Notebook Thirteen

10/4/08:

This is a photograph of me.
As I sit at a computer
where the lines of my face are reflected in a strange opalescent light–
blue light–
everything looks strange in the reflection of new technology.

This is a photograph of me.
I am sitting at a desk
that’s wood, but you can’t tell
because it’s covered with so many papers and pens and cups and spoons
it looks like a menagerie of office supplies
and cosmetics.

This is a photograph of me.
It’s the life that I’ve chosen.
Look to the right a little–
the blinds on the window are closed so that no one can see inside–
and so I will never have to look on the broad, swift darkness
of the places where I am not.

Leave a Reply

