Song for Nate

There’s something beautiful about tonight
All the raindrops pouring in
all the people I have never been
it’s like a big reunion
with no misplaced sense of guilt
no self-regard to aim or tilt
it’s like a fireplace full of smoke
the fire’s gone out
the fire’s gone out.

I’m candlelight
and sweet silver nothings
I’m twilight
and I’m quiet upbringings.
I’m knocking knees and sweaty palms
and Jesus fish and napalm.
I’m the world’s greatest fisherman
I’m the only living boy in New York
where we can all live
and we can all live.

I died in a way you know
I haven’t been living
and my soul’s spent on giving
and I’m wasting and I’m thinning
I’m not me anymore
Maybe I never was
Maybe I never was
Maybe I never was.

                                                -Kaitlyn Medina                       [11/19/08]

Leave a Reply

