The Desert

I’m dreaming of a desert I’ve only seen in sleep
But I’m full of expectations and fear
Because the things in my dreams are distorted,
A mirage of the effect of light on water and old glass
That changes the look of things–
Emily Dickinson wouldn’t like a look of agony so much if she saw it through my dreams.
But I dream of it and it satisfies me, for now at least.
And reality always disappoints,
at least at first.
That’s what I say.

Beyond my dreamt desert, there is
an edge of a world I don’t
understand, and whose name I am
afraid to pronounce.

                                                            -Kaitlyn Medina                       [6/11/09]

Leave a Reply

