The Time of Goodbyes

The feathers of belonging
Darling, they become you.
Where you are going
Will you remember the way
The lights dance on the rain?
Will you remember how to be cold,
Your lips all dry and cracked?
Don’t forget the sound of midnight
In October.

Lovely,
In your hours of absence,
I will remember the way
Your face struck the bar light.
We are in love.
We are forever.
I will be where you are not
Even as you are where I cannot be.

Remember me
As I am after the wine.
Remember you
As you are
When you are.

for JCB

[10/22/15]

Leave a Reply

