Should Have Been

You should have been here.
We should have been these
Lovers, fingers twining
Beneath tabletops and sheets
Glancing with eyes like firelight
Secrets dancing
Shared
Promises hanging like smoke
Or nets
Above the dinner table
Laden with plates and cups.

It should have been you
Plying willing fingers,
Slipping breathlessly into
Smiling silence,
Looking,
Seeing,
Polishing our sweetest words
Meant for each other.

But I am alone,
Fingers laced with rings
You did not give me,
Enveloped in smoke,
Holes in my socks
With no one to hold me.

Lover I lost,
Your lingering distaste
For my incessant need to feel
Reaches like long fingers
To wrap my memories in tears.

© K Paige Medina 9/4/2016

Leave a Reply

